19
Oct
08

Senior Spotlight:Consuelo Panganiban

I was born on July 25, 1948, in Manila, Philippines. I am the second child in the family. I have three brothers and three sisters, all married and having their own family. One brother lives with his wife in New York working as a security officer.

My father’s name was Ruperto Diga Panganiban and my mother’s name was Petionila Ferolino Panganiban. Both were born in Daine Indang Cavite and are now deceased. My father was a military man who fought during the World War II outbreak. He joined the U.S. Armed Forces of the Far East and was ranked a 2nd Lieutenant.

My mother became a housewife and brought up her children to be good and well educated.

When I was in elementary and high school, I joined the Glee Club and we competed with other schools. I was an active student and joined lots of school activities.

I finished my Bachelor of Arts degree at Centro Escolar University in Mend Iola, Manila, in 1969, majoring in history. I received my master’s degree as a government scholar at the University of the Philippines located in Diliman, Quezn City, in 1972. I majored in social studies. I became a college professor of social sciences at St. Louis University from 1969 to 1972 at the age of 19 after my graduation in 1969.

I’m single and living alone. I like traveling, so when my sister asked me to join her in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, I did not hesitate and I joined her. She was the head of the radiology of Mafraq Hospital, as a doctor. She was sent by the department to study MRI at UCLA in Los Angeles. I came along with her and was granted a visa.

My sister has been here for more than 20 years as a nurse and an American citizen. She asked me to stay with her and help her with her children, so I became a babysitter of my three nephews. My nephews are all grown up now and can take good care of themselves. My duties were to pick them up from school and back to their home on school days and be with them while my sister and brother-in-law were working. I also did some household chores like cooking, cleaning and the laundry. I did tutoring, too, with my nephews’ assignments. I taught them to read the Old and New Testaments of the Bible, the value of the book in life and the importance of believing in God.

While I was in the Philippines, I was a missionary worker from 1989 to 1998. I was a Bible teacher, teaching to all walks of life from younger children to adults.

My sister became my sponsor and I came to the United States June 29, 2001. I felt so excited and happy coming to the United States of America. I am a legalized immigrant with the INS.

I applied as a caregiver, was accepted, was hired and am presently working with a client.

My hobbies are singing karaoke, listening to good music, watching TV and movies, and dancing in my spare time.

I joined the choir of the Community Bible Church in Clovis and volunteered to watch the children while their mothers are learning about the Bible. We watch Christian videos and I also teach them about the Bible.

I enjoy coming to the Clovis Senior Center because this is the way and the place we can meet other people and make my client happy and her life active.

I have seen the city of Cairo, Egypt, Alexandria and experienced the reality of the pyramids of Egypt, the Nile River and other historical spots of the country in 1999. Traveling to other countries lets me see their history, the beauty of the country, its historical spot and I get to experience their customs and traditions. It is one way of learning indeed.

Published in http://www.clovisindependent.com


2 Responses to “Senior Spotlight:Consuelo Panganiban”


  1. 1 dasoy
    September 30, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    Hello Consuelo, My name is Damaso Panganiban Gil, my mother’s name was Maura Panganiban, my father’s name was Jose Gil. I was born in Indang,Cavite. Probably you would know my uncle Atty. Numeriano Panganiban. I was told before, that a person with the last name Panganiban is related to us, especially that you’re originally from Indang also. I am residing in San Diego,California, since 1969. Baka ang sister mo ang nakakakilala sa akin. Kapatid ko si Cano Gil, mas kilala sa Daine siya. In case you will be in the area, give me a call. I am listed in the phone book. My E-mail address : damasogil@ymail.com………Dasoy

  2. 2 Gloria Bernardino-Mababangloob
    October 23, 2010 at 7:05 am

    class 61 of malate catholic school is the golden jubillarians come 2011. we,the alumni are looking for batchmates. can you help us locate the whereabouts of our former classmate, CONSUELO NUESTRO? her parents were employees of the DepEd and the family once lived in baclaran, paranaque.

    thank you so much for your time.

    gratefully,

    gloria


Leave a Reply

"Hi to all folks of Indang.This site is just to update everybody what's happening in our beloved hometown and to guide all kababayan tourists what to do if they will visit Indang.
Huwag tayong maging dayuhan sa sariling bayan".

Blog Stats

  • 700,840 beses na binulatlat
October 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

